Books: Deciding What’s Next

The hardest part about being a book nerd while living in the city in your 20s is actually finding the time to get through everything you want to read. Between having a job, staying (somewhat) active athletically to retain some semblance of shape, maintaining a healthy social life and other interests, it’s a simple fact that you will never be able to read all the books you want to read–there’s a finite amount of leisure time in our lives and we need to choose how we spend it wisely. 

Figuring out which book on my ‘to-read’ list to knock out next is a tough one. Do I go in order of which one has been on my list the longest? Do I go in order of length of the book, so I can read more of them, rather than spending a long time with a long book? Should I dive headfirst into a particular author and go through his entire oeuvre? How do you even decide? I find I arbitrarily pick one as soon as I finish reading my current book and just go from there.

I don’t have any pretensions that too many people are reading this, or that anyone really gives a shit what book I read next, so let’s just get that part out of the way first. That said, as I work my way through the book I’m currently reading (The Count of Monte Cristo, aka ‘the shortest 1200 page book ever because I can’t put it down’) I thought I’d list the books on my to-read shelf currently to see if maybe I can make an educated decision on what to tackle next.
I’m making it a goal to review every book I read, as well as books I’ve read in the past that had a big impact on me, for as long as I keep this blog running (which I hope will be a good long time). 
The candidates, in alphabetical order:
  • 1984, George Orwell
  • 2666, Roberto Bolagno
  • A Fan’s Notes, Frederick Exley
  • A Scanner Darkly, Phillip K. Dick
  • All the Pretty Horses, Cormac McCarthy
  • As I Lay Dying, William Faulkner
  • The Breaks of the Game, David Halberstam
  • The Brothers Karamazov, Fyodor Dostoyevsky (this one probably won’t be next, need to prep myself for this one)
  • Cold Mountain, Charles Frazier
  • Gone Girl, Gillian Flynn
  • The Goldfinch, Donna Tartt
  • Hell’s Angels, Hunter S. Thompson
  • Kafka on the Shore, Haruki Murakami
  • The Long Goodbye, Raymond Chandler
  • The New York Trilogy, Paul Auster
  • Night of the Gun, David Carr
  • On Writing, Stephen King
  • Ready Player One, Ernest Cline
  • Songs of a Dead Dreamer, Thomas Ligotti
  • War God, Graham Hancock
This is only part of my sadly ridiculously huge to-read list. If anyone out there has any thoughts or suggestions, I’d love to hear them. 
 
Leave a Reply

